Final result preview
Step 1
Start by opening the city stock image in
Photoshop. You will need to get rid of the original sky and add your
own. In order to do that you will have to use the Pen Tool (P)
because there are some tall buildings on the background and the
technique of using a soft brush to blend the buildings with the new sky
will not work very well. So, crop the original sky and then place a new
sky on a new layer below the background.

Step 2
Open the man stock image, crop it using the Pen Tool (P) and paste it on a new layer above the background and the sky layers. Resize if needed.

Step 3 – Background color matching
Ok, once you’ve done with that, start
turning this into a sunrise scene. You can transform it into a nice
night scene with a big bright moon and stars if you want. If you decide
to do a night scene, read my “Beauty in the lake tutorial“, it might be useful because it teaches you how to create a night scene.
I took the sky as my guide to create the
color and light for the rest of the elements. I just need to make
adjustments to the background and to the man model to match the sky. I
used the same Color Matching techniques explained on, the 2rd part of my “Manipulation Secrets” series.
The first thing to do is to make the
background darker. All the layers that will affect the background are
created as clipping masks and they are all in one group for easier
identification.
So add a Curves Adjustment layer and increase a bit the dark tones. I also used the Gradient Tool (G)
and created a black to transparent radial gradient to darken even more
the buildings on both sides of the road while keeping the center
brighter.


This is hot the image looks after applying all these adjustment layers.

Step 4
Using the Dodge & Burn Tool you can darken and lighten some buildings to create some nice light effects. Create a new layer above all the layers on the palette. Fill it with 50% Gray from the menu Edit>Fill. Set the layer’s blend mode to Overlay and then using the Dodge and Burn tool brush the dark and light parts of the building. Take a look at the images below.
If you really want to see how the
Dodge/Burn affects the image, hover the mouse over the image below and
see the before and after.

Step 5
Now let’s make some adjustments to the man as well. Create a new Gradient Fill adjustment layer as clipping mask and use the Black to Transparent preset. See image below.

Step 6
After adding the gradient shadow, it’s time to make some color adjustments to the man. Use the same technique as shown on Step 3. Use a Color Balance adjustment layer to increase the yellows and increase the shadows and Midtones with a Curves adjustment layer.
Step 7
Almost there. All you need now are some
general adjustments. I explained this over and over again so I will not
do it again here. Basically, create a stamp with Shift+Ctrl+Alt+E and apply clipping mask adjustment layers.
As you can see on the picture on step 6,
the image has too much red and orange so among my final adjustment
layers is a Color Balance layer which I used to increase Cyans. I also
added a vignette effect selecting the entire canvas and adding father to
the selection. Then I inverted the selection and filled it with black.
I also added a flare effect. I created a new layer and I filled it with black, than I added a lens flare from Filter>Render>Lens Flare and then I changed the layer’s blend mode to Screen.
After that I created a stamp as
mentioned above and added some lighting effects from
Filter>Render>Lighting effects. You can learn more about Final
adjustments on this tutorial and more about lighting on this other tutorial. See image below
Tidak ada komentar:
Posting Komentar